Annie Gets Fit

inside is healthy. outside is about to be.

Climb Nashville

I think we’ve gone over this a time or seven, but I’ve been known to be a quitter and to not try things that feel like they might be too hard.

But if I’ve learned anything in this competition, I’ve learned that I don’t have to quit. And, in fact, I’m stronger and tougher than I thought.

So I’ve picked a couple of activities to try in the next few months that I have never been brave enough to try before.

First up- rock climbing.

My roommate Laura and I went together, for the first time, to Climb Nashville. Our friend Chris is a veteran climber and offered for us to join him.

It was SO FUN. And it honestly wasn’t as impossible as my mind had convinced me. The dude who trained us and did the intro stuff called it a “self-improvement sport”- there is no competition, no racing. It is just doing better each route than you did the route before.

There was one route, though, that was almost impossible for me. I climbed the first two-thirds of it and then slipped off. [One of the best things about climbing is that you are completely safe thanks to the rope and people on the ground, so slipping off the rock is no biggie.] I felt like I couldn’t make it to the top.

I swung there for a minute and then thought, “I’m gonna try again.”

So I did. And I fell again.

It took me probably six tries on that route. And every time I fell, I would swing there for a minute and really think about whether my muscles could pull me to the top. My sweet friends were really encouraging and when I would say, “Ok, Chris, let me down,” he wouldn’t do it. 🙂 He would just let me hang there until I said, “I’m gonna try again.”

And eventually, I did it. I made it to the very top.

Of course, it was the last route of my day. 🙂 But I didn’t care. I had been given the chance to quit, just like with this challenge for the last few months, but I didn’t take the chance.

I’m not  a quitter anymore.

I’m not afraid of the walls I have to climb.

April 30, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 3 Comments