Annie Gets Fit

inside is healthy. outside is about to be.

A busy busy week.

It’s just true.

My life is too busy.

I try to cram too many people and too many things into too small of a space of time.

My life is a metaphorical clown car.

So to add daily exercise has caused the wheels to fall off and the doors to bust at the hinges.

I struggle.

I struggle with balancing loving people and taking care of myself.

I don’t know who wins.

I get frustrated if I set aside time to exercise and then it gets replaced by something seemingly more important.

I love my friends. I love my social life. I really REALLY do.

And therein lies the problem.

So I’m working on balance. On taking time for me. On using my time at the gym to meet up with friends so that it doesn’t feel wasted. On understanding where my health falls in the list of important ways to spend my time.

Also.

I am in love with Fiber One muffins. [That has nothing to do with anything, but it is still true.]

Y’all have a great week.

March 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I hear you on this! Even when my friends (and I suspect yours as well) are super supportive of any of my attempts to lead a healthier and more balanced life, there are still so many different competing priorities. And I’m so scared I’m going to miss something. And it seriously doesn’t matter what it is. My mom says I’ve always been like that – always scared I’m going to miss something, always needing to know what’s going on. I attribute part of it to a good decade or so of feeling constantly left out, leaving me so thankful to be included in things that I just can’t say no (and I can’t so no at work or to my family, which are entirely different problems).

    I’m not sure about you, but the exercise has always been my problem. I can get the eating right down (and when I don’t, I know who is to blame – me!), but exercise, for a variety of reasons, hasn’t always been a huge part of my life and it’s very easy for me to let it slide off my schedule in lieu of dinners and movie nights and hanging out on roof-tops on perfect early spring nights.

    Comment by Gwen | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey Annie…I love your blogs-this post stood out to me-I can totally relate! Check out my take on helping ourselves first at http://www.justmcgee.com. Really odd timing! Keep going-you are my inspiration right now!

    Comment by mcgee | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Metaphorical clown car! I can totally relate to that. That is a big struggle for me. Seems like something in my life is always losing out to something else.
    Keep at it Annie. You are doing great and are inspiring a bunch of us on the journey with you. :O)
    Gina

    Comment by Gina | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. I totally agree. I know that my heaalth should be right at the top of the importance list, but the actual part of not feeling guilty about it, kills me…..and then you throw in the muffin. You crack me up!

    Comment by O Mom | March 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. Just wanted to leave a note to cheer you on. It strikes me that eating well, health, exercise, “me time,” friends,God, and work are all about balance. If one gets off kilter, the rest suffer. I’m here with you. It’s a constant negotiating act to balance all the things on my plate. But I also know that I must take care of ME first or else the other things are bound to fail. Just strikes me that there are so many deeper issues here (and for ALL of us) than “losing weight” or “exercising.”

    Big hugs to you as you juggle everything on your plate!

    Andrea

    Comment by Andrea | March 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

