Annie Gets Fit

inside is healthy. outside is about to be.

Gym vs. Church : The Priority Battle

Sunday brought me a new challenge.

It was a full day. I had an early morning coffee date, church, writing work to complete, tutoring, a dinner, a birthday party, and an early Monday morning. I wanted to fit exercise in- and of all the things I could replace, church was the only one.

And I couldn’t believe it was even crossing my mind.

An internal battle started.

Church is great. It’s the one time I week that I worship with my friends, I am disconnected from all forms of communication except communication with God, and it is the most healthy part of my heart’s week.

On the other hand.

Exercise is really growing on me. I actually enjoy having it as part of my normal day. My body is responding well to it and my heart it too.

So on Sunday morning, it was hard. And I was surprised. A month ago, there wouldn’t have been a competition. [Sheesh- exercise was not even on my radar.] And now, I’m considering skipping church to go to the gym?

It took me 20+ minutes to decide. Do I go to church or is my exercise time more important? Could I go on a walk and listen to a sermon? [Because if don’t have to choose, that makes me happy. I’m a wimp. Sue me.]

I decided to go to church. My body is important to me. But the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to remind myself that God is first. Not Annie.

I trust God. I trust that time on Sunday is better spent focusing on Him and not on me.

It’s. Not. Always. About. Me.

That’s hard to learn [for me at least]. And hard to grasp, especially when I’m in a weight loss competition on TV that focuses on ME.

Though exercise is important, I was grateful for the chance to remind myself Who I live for.

Matthew 6:33

But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness,

and all these things will be given to you as well.

– – – – – – – – – – –

Annie’s Area of Improvement:

I have finally found my groove.

Yes. It took me five weeks. I get that. And yes. I may be behind my competitors, but I’m finally in the race.

I think the key change that happened for me was looking at this whole thing DAY TO DAY. Instead of trying to fit exercise in five days out of the week, I have to fit exercise in TODAY. And I have my calories for TODAY. It has helped a lot. Like whoa.

Annie’s Big Problem of the Week:

As excited as I am to have found my groove, I’m nervous that I’m going to lose it. I don’t want this to be a phase. I want this to be my life.

So. Calm my fears, people. Tell me how you keep it up. Now that I’ve got a healthy eating vibe going on and exercise is pretty much in my everyday, how I maintain it??

March 4, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Way to go with putting God first…I love the example that you’re settng, girl! I’m not the best healthy eater, but with exercise, I just make myself think about how good I will feel if I go (emotionally, physically, etc). Then, if I’m crunched for time, I just try to do at least 20 min. If you do intervals (running, elliptical, whatever)for 20 min, you can still get a great workout! (I feel like I just sounded like a cheesy infomercial or something.) You’re doing GREAT!!!

    Comment by Sherri | March 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks, Sherri!! I appreciate it so much.

      20 minutes. I can probably do that. 🙂

      Love, Annie

      Comment by Annie | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  2. You chose well! 🙂 1 Timothy 4:8 addresses the very debate!!

    Thanks for inviting us along your journey; it’s so motivating.

    Comment by hibby | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. I think you do what you’ve been doing–take it day by day. And I often do what Sherri mentioned and tell myself I’ll just do 10 or 15 or 20 minutes (or whatever I think I can realistically manage). Usually I end up doing more than that. And I always remind myself that I NEVER regret exercising, but I ALWAYS regret it when I don’t.

    Comment by erin | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. Yep, I’m with Sherri. I’ve tried to think all along the way–what can I do for the rest of my life. And some days, 20 minutes is what I can do.

    And most Sundays I can fit in at least 20 minutes at the gym BEFORE I head over to church!

    And eating, I am learning that I will never ‘get there,’ will never ‘be perfect.’ So when I have a ‘bad eating day’ I just start right back in and eat the way I know is best, and its food I love, so its not like I’m giving up anything, if that makes sense.

    Comment by debby | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  5. Denise Austin has a DVD that has several 12 minute videos- When I’m on a time crunch I usually do two segments – one cardio and one upper or lower body – it at least gets my blood pumping. And yes, I get up early – early some days to get this in.

    Comment by Kelley | March 6, 2010 | Reply

  6. good luck! I’m rooting for you!

    Comment by Kaci | March 7, 2010 | Reply

  7. Annie,
    I am so proud of all of your hard work. I am also proud that you chose to put God first. It is amazing how He will give you the time for things (i.e. exercise) if you first make the time for Him! I am so excited to read more about your progress!!

    Comment by Jenica Stephens | March 7, 2010 | Reply

  8. Annie, I am so proud of you!! You are doing great! As someone who has also struggled with her weight, I know how you feel. I have found that the day by day mentality definitely works for me, too. And the ole “If you bite it, write it” tactic helps too–whatever I put in my mouth has to go in my food journal. I love and miss you!!

    Comment by Jenny Bohn | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love Saturday night church because I can spend my Sunday mornings either being lazy or busting it working out. I tend to listen to a lot of sermons while I work out during the week. Just makes the time go by.

    I hate to tell you this, sweetie, but there will be times where you lose your grove. Sometimes it’s easy and sometimes it’s hard. That’s just how it is. The hard times make you appreciate the easy times. And it’s all about the long haul – about keeping on fighting the fight.

    For me, I’ve just tried really hard to take all the emotion out of it and think of calories in/calories out just like I think about my checkbook. If I want to “spend” the calories on a food or a treat, I have to make sure I’m willing to put in the exercise to “earn” the extra calories. It’s just about math.

    But, without fail, there are at least 3 or 4 days a month where that just doesn’t work. And then I just ride it out and do serious damage control when my groove comes back.

    And as long as I’m looking for it, it always does.

    Comment by krissie | March 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

