Annie Gets Fit

inside is healthy. outside is about to be.

An awesome iPhone app!!

So one of the most encouraging things of my week was the discovery of the iPhone app Lose It!

Here is the link directly to iTunes so you can read all about it.

With this app, I can:

  • set weight loss goals for each week
  • set an overall weight loss goal
  • track my caloric intake [BIG deal for me! Tracking is hard!]
  • track my exercise
  • set up reminders to track
  • email progress reports to yourself [or your trainer] every day!

Almost every food you can think of, including stuff from the grocery stores (brand names) and restaurants foods are listed in the app. So it’s easy to search and find what you ate. I’ve had to go online a few times to research the calories in something, but once you add it to your foods, it is always available to choose from.

And according to Lose It!, if I stay on track, I could be at my goal weight by October 9, 2010. That seems so encouraging [and sorta crazy] to think that if I just keep tracking and working out, I could lose 70 lbs in 8 months.

The other amazing thing is that it is on my iPhone, so it’s easily accessible. That’s a big deal to me- I want these things to fit in my life, so I can add them to my daily regime. So far, the Lose It! app has been easy to learn, easy to use, and really encouraging! I recommend trying it out for anyone trying to lose a little weight.

So it’s fair to say that I *may* have a bit of a crush. On Lose It!.  🙂

Any other healthy living apps out there that I should be using? Tell me bout it!

– – – – – – –

Hey Nashville! Remember that THIS SATURDAY (Feb. 26th) we will all be at Nashville Athletic Club from 11a-1p for the Zumbathon raising money for Haiti. Please come join us! Make sure you introduce yourself- I’d love to meet you!! Just excuse my sweaty-self. 🙂

(Also, you can let us know on Facebook if you are coming! The more the merrier!)

February 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. i love the lose it app! or maybe i should say i have a love/hate relationship with it… knowing exactly how many calories are in some of the things i eat? scary! ha.

    Comment by holly | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’ve used that app twice (two different “streaks,” if you will). I’ve probably lost 10lbs total with that app. I’d like to jump back on the train and lose some more. It really is an awesome app. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve used it before ordering out in a restaurant. Pull it up, check the food I’d like to order, and know how many calories I’m about to consume. So convenient.

    Comment by Ali | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. That sounds like an awesome app!

    Another app I like is just called “Restaurants”

    It just has a ton of restaurants on it and you can look up anything on the menu to know how many calories/fat etc… is in each item.

    Comment by Heidi S | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve been using it for a nearly a year and love it!

    Comment by Kimberly | February 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love Lose It too! I’ve been using it since October and it helped me get back down to a healthier weight. I still need to add in more exercise, though. 🙂

    Comment by Abby | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. I lost 65 lbs last year and that app was really helpful! You are doing great–keep going–it is just one meal at a time!

    Comment by christine | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. I have the LOSE IT app and LOVE IT!!! Keep pushing, Annie!!

    Comment by LIndsey | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. Wow! Love this App. Been using it for three days and it really helps. Thanks for the jumpstart, Annie. After reading about your adventure I jumped on the bandwagon!

    Comment by Linda | March 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. I love lose it. I’ve been using it for over a year. I tend to eat the same things in cycles, so it’s really nice to know that if I scroll through, I’ll find the counts for the chili or the chicken salad I made.

    I’m also obsessed with Streaks. I’ve always loved stickers on a calendar, but with Streaks, I can always carry it with me and it shows my current streak. I love that there’s a “30” yelling at me every time i unlock my phone – reminding me that I’ve followed my running plan to the letter for the last 30 days in a row. Really motivating for me.

    Girl, you’re doing great!

    Comment by krissie | March 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. Thanks for the app recommendation! I’ve been looking for something new to help me track my food intake and exercise. I need to lose a LOT of weight (50-60 lbs) and am looking forward to see if this can help me stay on track. Thanks and good luck!

    Comment by Julia | March 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

